This One’s For The Ladies

No matter what sport or recreational activity a woman tackles, she needs support … for the “girls” up top.

Luckily, if you’re in search of a new – or better – sports bra, fitness columnist Vicky Hallett for the Washington Post has done some leg work for you and has compiled details about the newest trends and technology available for the sports bra. There is also a Q&A for some very specific to sports bra quandaries, read here.

The biggest thing that stood out for me? Your sports bra shouldn’t celebrate a birthday. Whoops. I have trusty bras that I’ve worn for so long, I can’t even tell you their age.

This is a great column that features shopping tips and how to get the right size.

I pulled a couple of things off the Q&A I mentioned above, things that I think may be of interest to readers here:

For the big-chested ladies out there: Here is the bra the experts recommend for you:
– Enell only makes two styles of bras, but bigger women swear by them! And they do custom orders, which I think is what you’d need to get the proper fit: enell.com/custom_sizes.php
– Try http://www.herroom.com – one of the best resources for sports bras in your size range.

For the preggos out there: One things we’ve found in sports bra research in the sport science lab is that extra motion can definitely cause extra discomfort.  So you may need to look for more support than in the past–look for a high support rating on the sports bra hangtag.  A style like Champion’s 6242 Seamless Underwire sports bra actually fits across more than one cup size due to subtle stretch in the cups, and would “expand” to fit you as change size.  It’s also really soft and body-friendly, straps and bottom band adjust so you can personalize fit and support.  P.S.  I personally went from a B pre-pregnancy to a C during most of pregnancy, to a D right after delivery, then back to a C during my year of nursing!

For the breastfeeding gals out there (This isn’t from the column or Q&A, this is my opinion): If you fall into this category – or suspect you will at some point in your life – I recommend assessing exactly how you plan on working out. A racerback sports bra is good for quick access for your baby, but if you’re running and you’re amply endowed, you might slip out the bottom. I love my adjustable Velcro strap sports bra, but in the early days of breastfeeding, they sometimes unstrapped themselves during a vigorous workout. Perhaps it’s best to try bras on when you’re at your “fullest” and mimic whatever activity you will doing in the bra. Definitely bounce to be sure nothing’s going to fall out.

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in General Fitness and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to This One’s For The Ladies

  1. Kelly Robinson says:

    I’m bigger chested and I croke down and bought an Enell bra last year. BEST investment ever. The “girls” stay put. I highly recommend it and I plan on investing in another one.

Leave a Reply

