Are You A Yoga Poser?

I’m a casual fan of yoga in the sense that I’ve gone to a few classes over the years (usually spacing attending a class every two years) and I own a couple DVDs. Yoga is my go-to workout when I’m feeling like an inflexible dummy or I have a back ache. Sometimes I pop a DVD in when I’m stressed, but it never became a stress relieving habit.

Does this describe you, too?

I’ve often had the intention of becoming a yoga regular at whatever gym I belonged to at the random times that it struck me that yoga would do me some good. But the class schedules never fit mine. Maybe I’ll give it another shot because reading an excerpt from this book – it has me thinking I could use some calming guidance.

Host Linda Wertheimer of NPR’s “Weekend All Things Considered” recently interviewed author Claire Dederer about her new book “Poser: My Life in Twenty-Three Yoga Poses.”

First off, this book sounds hilarious and insightful and I’m adding it to my must-read list.

But, more importantly, this interview and excerpt touch upon things that some of us face, not just in motherhood but in trying to be a decent human being.

There’s a lot of pressure on us to be perfect – a lot of it is self-imposed – and there needs to be something in life to put things into perspective. I always focus on how yoga helps me get stronger and more flexible; I tend to forget it has a powerful mental effect.

In Dederer’s journey, yoga helped her realize it’s OK not to be perfect. It also helped her back pain, which you know, is also important for a functioning adult.

Who is a regular practitioner or was at some point? How did it help you?

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in General Fitness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

