Cross-Training

My running team and I started a little discussion on good cross-training options for those training for a half-marathon or marathon. Our schedule calls for two days of cross-training.

My favorite is swimming, which is a great all-over aerobic workout. I’ve been neglecting my bike and will dust it off soon and hit the streets and trails, so that will be my back up (always the triathlete, right?).

Some of my team mates like to work out on the elliptical machine, stationary bike and stair machine. My husband through out the suggestion of doing something completely different, but still active, like basketball or racquetball.

I’m putting the call out for readers to share their favorite cross-training exercises. What do you do on your off days (not to be confused with those wonderful rest days)?

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in General Fitness, Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cross-Training

  1. Kelly Robinson says:

    Is Yoga considered more of a strengthening vs. cross training?

  2. kareiner says:

    Good question. I guess I’d considered it both (and a good stretch), though I sometimes get in the mindset that a cross training workout needs to be a cardio workout. Yoga can be great for runners, helping build a better core and better balance. See this website about it, http://www.yogajournal.com/lifestyle/192.

Leave a Reply

