Treadmill vs. Outdoor Running

I’m a fan of outdoor running. As soon as the weather’s reasonable (30s), I try to run outside instead of hitting the gym. I like the change of scenery and it gives me something to look at instead of a wall or someone’s sweaty butt.

But, not everyone likes the great outdoors: There’s wind, there are uneven surfaces and if you get hurt, you might find yourself far from your starting point.

Here’s an article that compares the two. It seems bit more pro-outdoors but it concludes by saying both will give you equal benefits in health. True.

If you’re planning on doing any races in the spring or summer, my advice is to spend more time outdoors running than on a treadmill. Race day conditions aren’t going to be as hospitable as the flat surface of a treadmill and the breeze-less gym. You might as well get used to it.

Besides that, who wants to do a long run on a treadmill if the weather’s nice and you can get outside? I’ve had to do some really long runs on a treadmill (sign up for a December marathon and you’ll know why) – it’s not the most fun.

What’s your preference?

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in General Fitness, Running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Treadmill vs. Outdoor Running

  1. Kelly Robinson says:

    My preference…hmmm…I’ve been running indoors until last Saturday. It was great to be outside. But, I will say that it’s easier to run with somebody, that way you can push each other.

  2. Ticha says:

    Outdoors. Hands down. Treadmill running is a necessary evil for me.

Leave a Reply

