I’m part of a team of family and friends who began a 12-week training program for the Lincoln Half-Marathon yesterday. Of the 12 people on our team, four have done a half-marathon; everyone else is a beginner.

I love introducing an endurance sport to people – even if it’s running, my weakness. Part of what’s great about being on a team is that people can ask questions and usually get a handful of good suggestions.

One that’s already popped up is how to exercise while injured. A few of our runners/walkers have foot and ankle problems and they’re worried about training with them.

From personal experience, running on an injured ankle is no good for a lot of reasons. Here, that mantra “No pain, no gain” doesn’t work.

What worked for me was deep water running. Here’s a very good article at M2 Revolution (a site more geared toward triathletes and cyclists) that further explains the how and the why of water running.

This article points out two common mistakes to water running, mistakes I know I probably did: Doing the wrong motion and making too short of stride.

If you’ve really overdone it and your doctor has ordered you to not run for an extended period of time, Pete Pfitzinger, M.S., offers a 9-week water running plan. He also discusses technique here and gauging your effort.

The M2 Revolution article, by the way, also offers another alternative for training while injured: Stair running. I never thought of doing that. Has anyone tried stair running?

Anybody out there have other suggestions for people who suffer from foot injuries? What have you done in the past to maintain fitness while injured?

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

