Meatless Monday … Baked Sweet Potato Fries

I never ate a sweet potato until I had been living on my own for about a year or two. I read about the benefits of the orange spud and thought learning how to make it would make a good challenge. I’ve had them smashed, in pies, baked and grilled. I loved them all.

Grilling sliced sweet potatoes is tasty, but when there’s a foot of snow outside, I stay indoors. So, I like to bake these wedges – they have the crunch like french fries but are a lot healthier.

The Food Network’s website offers a variety of ways to make them. You can go simple (toss with olive oil, salt and pepper), you can use a premade seasoning (toss with olive oil and perhaps some cajun seasoning), or try one of their recipes.

Here’s one to get you started:

Spicy Sweet Potato Fries
Recipe courtesy Food Network Magazine

Serves:
4 servings

2 pounds sweet potatoes, cut into wedges

2 tablespoons olive oil

1 1/2 teaspoons brown sugar

1 1/2 teaspoons salt

1/4 teaspoon cumin

1/4 teaspoon chili powder

Pinch of cayenne

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

Toss 2 pounds sweet potatoes (cut into wedges) with 3 tablespoons olive oil, 1 1/2 teaspoons each brown sugar and salt, 1/4 teaspoon each cumin and chili powder, and a pinch of cayenne.

Roast cut-side down on a baking sheet in a 425 oven until crisp, 30 minutes, turning once.

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in Nutrition, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

