The Stuff of Legends

I’ve met some people who have turned their life around by running, biking and multi-sports like triathlons (and Iron Man races). Their stories are inspiring, the stuff of legend in my mind.

I came across an inspiring story about a man who lost 320 pounds by riding a bike (this was written last year, so his weight loss is +330 now). I love these kinds of stories. Here was a man on death’s door and he forced himself to change course by putting his morbidly obese frame on two wheels. You can find out a whole lot more about this man if you read his blog, Large Fella on a Bike (http://istanbultea.typepad.com).

My story wasn’t as life-or-death, though I was headed down a path of complacency. I simply wasn’t all that active. For me, it took setting a big goal to motivate me: Run a marathon. After that, I wanted to complete a triple crown with Team in Training – finishing a marathon, triathlon and a century bike ride.

I finished that goal in the summer of 2010. That athletic pursuit helped me go down about eight dresses and ultimately, I think I lost about 40 or so pounds. The variety of sports is what kept me motivated and enjoying the journey.

I encourage those who have their sights set on weight loss to find something they love and do it often. Do it daily if you can.

If you need help finding that passion, that sport that might help you change your life around, why don’t you think back to your childhood. When were you having the most fun? Was it at the pool, flying down the hill on your bike or was it running through the yard with friends? Whatever it was, do it now and see if you can recapture that feeling.

I’ll close with an excerpt from the “Large Fella’s” blog: “It can be done – by you – if you allow it to be.  I am proof that it can be done. It’s easy [that’s why it’s so hard & difficult]. But, if you want it, it can be done.”

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in Biking, General Fitness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Stuff of Legends

  1. Pingback: A Mom With A Plan | body mind and stomach

Leave a Reply

