Cold Weather Essentials

Winter is my least favorite time of year for many reasons, but a big one is that we’re indoors all the time. Treadmills get boring fast and riding on a bike trainer is a big yawn too.
I’ve seen a few brave souls outside, running and biking, and it got me considering venturing outside.

What about you? Has cabin fever pushed you on the verge of exercising outside yet?

Here are some good tips on what to wear to stay warm while outdoors in the winter.

My thoughts on the list:

– A hat is essential in frigid temps. When it’s not crazy cold outside, you can get away with ear covers. Cold wind blowing into your ears kills your workout spirit fast.

– You may want something to cover your face, especially if it’s windy out. I saw a woman out walking with a ski mask on. Hey, whatever works.

– You’ll have to change how you run or walk if your path looks dicey. Shorter steps help you focus.

– When you run, the general rule is to dress as if it’s 10 degrees warmer than it really is because you’ll heat up to that point. Of course, when it’s 10 degrees out, it’s not like 20 is going to feel a whole lot nicer. But, you get the idea.

– My running gloves of choice are actually mittens I found at Scheels. When my hands start to feel to warm, I can flip the mitten cover over and cool off a bit, then flip it back over my fingers when I’ve cooled off. Mine are heavy material because I’m a wimp, but you can find wind-resistant and lighter gloves similar to mine at stores like Peak Performance.

This list is mainly for walking and running outdoors. Biking is a whole other ball game I’ll address at another time.

What are you cold weather essentials?

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in General Fitness, Running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

