Yoga for the Cyclist

For the seasoned biker, snow is not an obstacle for a ride. I don’t own studded tires, so it is for me.

Besides sitting on a bike trainer for hours, what else can a person do?
Yoga.

In an article at Bicycle.com, a 33-year-old biker/swimmer shared why yoga helps her cross-training routine:

“I was a swimmer and cyclist before I found yoga. And I was never fully comfortable. What yoga did was allow me to dive into myself, explore my limitations. So now after 15 miles on the bike, here’s this enormous hill, my legs are burning. How am I going to get up? Oh, I remember, it’s just like in savasana: release, calm, and focus yourself. I’m going to relax my feet, drop my shoulders, take a breath, and then just go with it.”

Yoga not only helps you build strength and flexibility, it helps with your mental game.

A friend shared with us his Cyclocore DVD set, which has an excellent yoga program. I highly recommend it.

A favorite stretch in our household that we first came across while doing the Cyclocore yoga DVD is called Pigeon Pose. It stretches hard-to-stretch leg muscles, especially right around your hips. It’s a great one to learn for any athlete, not just cyclists.

Here’s a tutorial on the Pigeon Pose (just ignore the woman’s blank stare at the camera for the first 10 seconds):

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in Biking, General Fitness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

