How Sick is Too Sick?

The first month of 2011 isn’t quite over yet, but I’m already thinking of spring. But, being that it IS January, I know I’m not out of the woods of the cold and flu season.

So, the question may come up: How sick is too sick to work out?

If you’re too sick to get out of bed, I think you have your answer.

But if it’s a head cold? Then what?

Or if you have a cough and sore throat but you still want to get a work out in? Should you?

Just so you don’t use a little cold as an excuse to skip the gym, here’s the skinny on when it’s OK to work out when sick.

To summarize an already concise answer: If it’s above the neck, you’re OK to workout; if it’s below the neck, take a break… and don’t workout if you have a fever.

Where do you draw the line?

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in General Fitness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

