Natural Enerergizing Food

I’m dragging today. I’m headed to the gym shortly and I just can’t muster up much energy.

Athletes are always trying to find the right energizing food to help get the most of their workouts. What works for you – a sports drink, energy bar … chocolate?

I came across an interesting list of natural energy foods. What do you think of some of these: Pickle juice, beet juice, coconut milk?

I haven’t heard of trying some of these things, and I don’t think I’m about to start chugging beet juice before getting on a treadmill. But some, I have tried.

Energy food or death trap?

–          Salted potatoes: Yummy, in moderation. These salty carbs were served up at a pit stop during my century ride around Lake Tahoe, and they hit the spot.

–          Hard candy: I tried various candies – Jolly Ranchers, peppermints – during a few long runs before my first marathon. I kept accidentally swallowing them, so I can’t say I liked them. They give you a quick hit of energy, sure, but for me, that energy was centered around the panic of choking.

–          Chocolate milk: It’s a great post-workout drink, plain and simple. It’s got the protein to repair muscles, carbs to refuel and a host of nutrients. Plus it tastes great.

Do you have any secret energy foods and drinks you’d like to share?

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

