What’s on Your Workout Playlist?

I actually don’t listen to as much music while out running as I used to when I first got into the sport. I think it’s because I biked for so long last year that I just got used to being without a soundtrack to my workout.

But back in the days, it was all 80s and 90s songs (C+C Music Factory and Guns N Roses anyone?) with some Yeah Yeah Yeahs thrown in for fun. I also tried listening to a book on tape for the super long runs.

What bands or songs are must-haves for your workouts?

I’m thinking about it today because I came across the website Run Hundred last night. The site’s creator regularly puts new songs online for people to vote on whether or not they’d run to it.

There’s an archive of songs categorized by genre and, smartly, by BPM. So if you’re looking for something to warm up to or something to listen to when you’re hitting your top speed, you can find it there.

Maybe I’m getting old or something, but I wouldn’t want to run to a lot of the songs on the website. OK, maybe I just don’t want to admit I’d listen to them.

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in General Fitness, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What’s on Your Workout Playlist?

  1. Kevin Reiner says:

    All depends on my mood and what type of run I’m going for

    For good beats I like Massive Attack, English Beat, Primal Scream, Moby, Beastie Boys etc.

    For heavy stuff I like Mastadon, Metallica, Helmet, Dillinger Escape Plan etc.

    For relaxing runs I like storytellers: John Prine, Bob Dylan, Ryan Adams, Lucinda Williams, Elvis Costello etc.

    And then I have runs where I like to listen to my favorites like Pavement, R.E.M., Wilco, Radiohead, Pixies, the Clash. Just music that I really like and I kind of get lost in. All of a sudden I’ve ran 5 miles and the music helped me to not concentrate on any aches.

  2. CLM says:

    Thanks for this post. I’m always looking for more workout music.

    I don’t run much anymore, but when I did, I absolutely had to have music to move. If the batteries on my Walkman went dead (dating myself here), I was lost. I could have happily just run 6 miles, but the minute the music stopped, I couldn’t go another step.

    Two songs that always get me going now are Body Movin’ by the Beastie Boys (with Fatboy Slim) and Little Less Conversation by Elvis (JXL remix). I also always like to have something inspirational at the end of my workout mix to stretch to while I watch the sun go down–Angeles by Elliot Smith always gets me and Central Reservation by Beth Orton puts me in a good mood.

Leave a Reply

